Lotus365 Lotus365 News Bangladesh include Soumya Sarkar in Emerging Asia Cup squad

Bangladesh include Soumya Sarkar in Emerging Asia Cup squad

Bangladesh include Soumya Sarkar in Emerging Asia Cup squad post thumbnail image

Bangladesh have called up Soumya Sarkar ^(https://lotus365.today/goto/https://www.espncricinfo.com/cricketers/soumya-sarkar-436677) in their squad for the upcoming ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup. Led by Saif Hassan, the team boasts eight international cricketers and a host of domestic performers. Soumya, however, has struggled at all levels since his last international assignment, during the 2022 T20 World Cup ^(https://lotus365.today/goto/https://www.espncricinfo.com/series/icc-men-s-t20-world-cup-2022-23-1298134) in Australia.
Soumya’s return to the side may be due to the Bangladesh team management’s request to see if he can regain some form. Soumya made his international debut under current coach Chandika Hathurusinghe ^(https://lotus365.today/goto/https://www.espncricinfo.com/cricketers/chandika-hathurusinghe-49125), when he made a bright start but later faded away. His stock has since dropped so far that even his club side Mohammedan Sporting Club dropped him at one stage during last season’s Dhaka Premier League.

Saif will otherwise lead a side that consists of batters like Zakir Hasan and Mahmudul Hasan Joy. Zakir had been called up in an ODI squad earlier this year but missed out due to an injury. Mohammad Naim, who is also included in the senior side for the ODIs against Afghanistan next month, is another opening option, while Mahedi Hasan, Parvez Hossain Emon, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury and Saif himself have all played at the highest level.

Among the uncapped players are batters Tanzid Hasan, Shahadat Hossain and Akbar Ali, while fast bowlers Ripon Mondol and Musfik Hasan are among bowling coach Allan Donald’s prospects. The spin department, however, is thin, with only Mahedi and Rakibul Hasan as the specialists in that department.

Bangladesh will take on the hosts Sri Lanka in their opening game on July 14. Their other group matches against Oman and Afghanistan are on July 16 and 18 respectively. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals, scheduled on July 21, with the final slated to be on July 23.

Squad: Saif Hassan (capt), Parvez Hossain Emon, Tanzid Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Zakir Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Mahedi Hasan, Rakibul Hasan, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Tanzim Hasan, Ripon Mondol, Musfik Hasan, Akbar Ali, Mohammad Naim

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Post