Stoinis fended at a delivery from Kagiso Rabada in the 18th over of Australia’s innings, with Quinton de Kock taking a tumbling catch down the leg side. South Africa opted to review and UltraEdge confirmed that the ball had brushed Stoinis’ bottom hand on its way through.
However, although Stoinis appeared to have let go of the bat handle, third umpire Richard Kettleborough indicated that he felt the right glove was making contact with the left, which in turn was still holding on to the bat.
After checking that the catch had carried cleanly through to de Kock, Stoinis was given out for 5 on the DRS – despite seemingly protesting to the standing umpires that his hand was off the bat.
Smith, however, was not convinced and walked off with a look of bemusement while studying the replays on the big screen. The dismissal left Australia 50 for 3 in their chase of 312 to win; when Stoinis departed, they had slid to 70 for 6.
More to follow…